Discover Meridian Trust
our-trustees twitter tsc support staff-development school-improvement plus-button our-vision-ethos mouse-scroll join-our-trust drop-down-arrow cpet-watermark collaboration arrow-right our-offer arrow-left phone email search cpet-cloud translate close trumpington-logo-01 external-link term-dates class-pages newsletters parentpay Prospectus lunch-menu gallery whos-whotitle> ceop location

Interactive Bar

Google search


Google translate


Contact Us


Primary School


Welcome to our Governance section 


Somersham Primary School is part of Meridian Trust.  The Trust was formed with a simple and clear vision ‘to ensure high quality education for all at the heart of the local communities’.

The school has an Academy Council (AC) which provides local governance.  It is made up of volunteers from the local community, parents, headteacher and staff. 


The AC is focused upon the individual school context, monitoring standards and achievement, and supporting and challenging school leaders to provide the best possible education for all the children and young people.  The AC's role includes:

  • Setting strategic priorities and plans

  • Monitoring standards and achievement within the school

  • Ensuring Trust policies are implemented

  • Engaging with all stakeholders to improve outcomes

  • Supporting and positively challenging school leaders.


Each AC member takes on a responsibility for monitoring a particular area, in which they hold the school's leadership to account by providing challenge and support within an agreed framework.  The AC meets up to six times in the year.  There are no sub-committees.

Key information about Meridian Trust, including governance structure, information about the board of trustees and members, the scheme of delegation and key legal and financial documents can be found on This includes funding agreements.


Please contact if you would like access to approved minutes of the AC or the trust board or for more information.


AC members are:


William Bergius (Personal Development/IT link)

Ian Cantle (Associate Member - Assistant Headteacher)

Jonathan Clarke (Headteacher)

James Course (Staff representative)

Sophie Everest (Chair and Safeguarding link)

Jo Hall (Trust link)

Sian Pritchard (Quality of Education link)

Kate Rigby (SENDV link)

Mark Wilson (Vice-Chair and Finance link)


The Clerk is Linda Doyle


The Clerk and any AC member can be contacted through the school office - 01487 840412 or